February 2019

February 27, 2019
Chen Yang, PhD student, received a best poster award in Northeast Complex Fluids and Soft Matter (NCS) Workshop held on Jan. 18 2019, in Rutgers. The title of the poster is "4D Printed Reconfigurable, Deployable and Mechanically Tunable Metamaterials" His advisor is Prof. Howon Lee.
February 27, 2019
Daehoon Han, PhD student, received a best paper award at the World Congress on Micro and Nano Manufacturing (WCMNM2018), held from Sep. 18 to Sep 20, 2018, in Portoroz, Slovenia. The title of the paper is “Rapid Multi-material 3D Printing with Projection Micro-stereolithography Using an Enclosed Printing Chamber”. His advisor is Prof. Howon Lee.
February 14, 2019
Katie Welch, a senior in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering department, has been accepted into the Brooke Owens Fellowship Program. The program, founded in memory of Dawn Brooke Owens, aims to empower women interested in the aerospace community through competitive internship opportunities and executive mentorship. During the summer she will be interning at Astranis Space Technologies in San Francisco. Her advisor is Prof. Doyle Knight.

December 2018

December 5, 2018
Rutgers-led team invents promising technology for killing microbes Imagine wearing clothes with layers of paper that protect you from dangerous bacteria.   A Rutgers-led team has invented an inexpensive, effective way to kill bacteria and sanitize surfaces with devices made of paper.  

November 2018

November 13, 2018
Kimberly Cook-Chennault in collaboration with Idalis Villanueva (Utah State) and Sara Pixley (Rutgers - Center for Cognitive Science) received an award from the National Science Foundation to conduct a sequential exploratory mixed method study to understand the factors that influence undergraduate learning when playing educational serious games.

September 2018

September 19, 2018
Bobby Randolph, MAE senior and a member of the Honors College, discovered his love of flying and mechanics working in an aircraft maintenance shop of a local airport and take flight lessons during his high school years. 

August 2018

August 30, 2018
Prof. Zhixiong Guo has been appointed as the Editor-in-Chief for the Journal of Enhanced Heat Transfer, an international scientific journal, first published in 1994 by Begell House, Inc. The Journal aims at publishing original research contributions and reviews on theory and application in high-performance heat and mass transfer. It is an official journal of the American Society of Thermal and Fluids Engineers.
August 24, 2018
The National Science Foundation has awarded Prosenjit Bagchi (PI), Howon Lee (Co-PI), and Biju Parekkadan (co-PI, Rutgers BME) a 3-year grant for a project entitled "A Computational Study of Cell Locomotion in Complex Environments: Towards a Fluid Mechanical Understanding of Cancer Progression." This award starts July 1, 2018 and ends June 30, 2021.

July 2018

July 24, 2018
University President Robert Barchi presented Professor Jerry Shan with the Rutgers Faculty Scholar-Teacher Award. Professor Shan is one of the five faculty members across the University recognized with this distinction in 2018.
July 24, 2018
University President Robert Barchi presented Professor James Guo with the Board of Trustees Award For Excellence In Research. Professor Guo is one of the four faculty members across the University recognized with this distinction in 2018.