September 2021

September 21, 2021
Rutgers football has had a strong academic tradition, reaching as high as the top Academic Progress Rate in the nation under head coach Greg Schiano

July 2021

July 29, 2021
Rutgers University’s annual Chancellor’s and Provost’s Awards for Faculty Excellence honor faculty whose outstanding work has been recognized by their peers.
July 2, 2021
From the fictional Predator spacecraft to the mysterious boomerang objects seen by pilots, mechanical and aerospace engineering professor Haym Benaroya considers the flight potential of six aircraft in advance of the Pentagon's UFO report for the website Inverse. Read here>>
July 2, 2021
Professor Yogesh Jaluria recently presented two invited plenary talks at international conferences, which were held remotely due to the pandemic. The first one was at the 8th International Conference on Computational Heat Mass and Momentum Transfer (ICCHMT), Paris, May 18-19, 2021. The talk was entitled, “Optimization of Thermal System to Enhance Output and Reduce Energy Consumption and Environmental Effect.” The second talk was at the International Conference on Materials and Energy (ICOME), Metz, France, June 9-10, 2021.

June 2021

June 15, 2021
Grant supports research on advanced multiscale functional composites The Office of Naval Research (ONR) has selected mechanical and aerospace engineering assistant professor Jonathan P. Singer for its prestigious 2021 Young Investigator Program. His $510,000 award will support research investigating the manufacturing of carbon fiber composites with anti-icing, electromagnetic shielding, and energy storage properties into 2024.
June 4, 2021
Professor Laurent Burlion received the 2020-21 Provost's award for Excellence in Teaching Innovations in recognition of his new drone course proposed this Spring 21. The course was a response to the covid crisis, which particularly impacted international exchanges and education. It was run in parallel at CentraleSupélec, France, and at Rutgers. Rutgers students worked at home on some Crazyflie drones and collaborated with CentraleSupélec students. The FACE Foundation funded the drones used in both universities.

May 2021

May 21, 2021
Click to View MAE Graduate Program Reception
May 7, 2021
Undergraduates conducting research in MAE labs received three of the highly selective Chancellor’s Awards which honor the outstanding achievements of students and organizations on the New Brunswick Campus.

April 2021

April 30, 2021
MAE students advised by Professor Onur Bilgen place win first and third place for their senior design projects at the 2021 AIAA Region 1 Student Conference. There were 52 papers submitted, and region 1 is the largest region in the country. Jonathan Snyder, Jenna Wendt, Alejandro Salvador-Garcia, Raneem Elsayed, Pamela Grullon, and Huan Min won first place in the conference for their project, The Zero-G Drone. The goal of their project is to lower the barrier to entry for microgravity testing by mounting an experiment platform on a quadcopter which will then generate freefall conditions.