December 2016

November 2016

November 23, 2016
Assistant Professor Howon Lee has been awarded a 2016 Haythornthwaite Foundation Research Initiation Grant by ASME Applied Mechanics Division. This award targets university faculty engaged in research in theoretical and applied mechanics that are at the beginning of their academic careers. The purpose of this grant is to assist with the purchase of equipment or instrumentation, fabrication of a unique apparatus, travel, or other items that serve the proposer’s research objectives. The Robert M.

October 2016

October 18, 2016
Professor Yogesh Jaluria was honored as the 2016 "Eminent Scientist" by the Wessex Institute, an international research organization, for his scientific achievements. The institute, which is located in Southampton, UK, is involved in research, conferences and monographs in a wide range of areas in engineering. The award was presented to Professor Jaluria at Heat Transfer 2016 - 14th International Conference on Simulation and Experiments in Heat Transfer and its Applications, held in September 2016 in Ancona, Italy.

September 2016

September 25, 2016
The paper co-authored by Professor Yi was selected as the IEEE Robotics and Automation Society (RAS) Best New Application Paper Award in 2015. Professor Yi was honored at the awards ceremony held at 2016 IEEE International Conference on Automation Science and Engineering on August 24, 2016 in Fort Worth, Texas, USA.
September 21, 2016
The Outstanding Engineering Faculty awardee is nominated by a department chair and selected by the School of Engineering Industry Advisory Board. The Faculty of the Year awardee may be nominated by any member of the Rutgers engineering community and is selected by a committee which includes previous recipients of the School of Engineering’s Medal of Excellence and Faculty of the Year awards. Recipients receive an award ranging from $1,000 to $5,000 to further their scholarship and research activities.
September 20, 2016
The National Science Foundation has awarded a grant for the proposal titled: "Collaborative Research: Identifying and Controlling Conductivity Variations in Semiconductor Nanowires" to Professors Jerry Shan (PI @ Rutgers), Professor Len Feldman (Co-PI @ Rutgers) and Mike Filler (PI @ Georgia Tech). For further information please visit NSF award site.

August 2016

August 18, 2016
The ARMY PEO Soldier program has awarded Professor Assimina Pelegri and Professor Ioannis Chasiotis (UIUC) a research contract or unveiling the origins of failure initiation in aramid fibers.
August 18, 2016
Prof. Alberto Cuitino has been elevated to the level of Fellow by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME).