October 2017

October 24, 2017
A Rutgers' student team has been selected as a finalist for the Bayer Big Ten Alka-Rocket Challenge. On November 8, four members of RUAlka will compete at the Space Center Houston against two other teams to attempt the GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS title for the Highest launch of an Alka-Rocket. CONGRATULATIONS RUAlka!!  More information about this competition is available here.    
October 11, 2017
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Assistant Professor Rajiv Malhotra recently received the Society of Manufacturing Engineers Outstanding Young Manufacturing Engineer Award.
October 5, 2017
The National Science Foundation has awarded Qingze Zou (PI) and Chanmin Su (co-PI at Bruker Nano Inc) a grant titled "GOALI: Control of Broadband Acoustic-caused Vibration at Nanoscale: An Enabling Technology for Cleanroom Metrology". This project aims to create a suite of dynamics and control tools to understand and combat acoustic-caused mechanical vibrations at nanoscale in atomic force microscope (AFM), a well-known and unique instrument used for studying objects at fractions of nano-meter scale. 
October 2, 2017
The Chancellor’s Scholar initiative was created through the New Brunswick Strategic Plan to recognize truly outstanding and highly promising scholars at Rutgers University–New Brunswick who are currently at the associate professor level. Professor Yi's scholarly research focuses on the fundamental understanding of the barriers in emerging applications and Grand Challenges in engineering from the dynamics and control perspectives, such as safe infrastructure and transportation systems and better healthcare and biomedical systems.
October 2, 2017
Cassidy was selected as one of the finalists in the Student Poster Competition during Oceans 17 Marine Technology Society (MTS) and IEEE-Ocean Engineering Society (IEEE-OCE) for her poster titled "Flight Dynamics of Slocum Gliders in Intermediate-Water Hurricane". Her poster described the findings motivated by unusual flight patterns during a glider deployment into Hurricane Sandy.
October 2, 2017
Professor Mina Pelegri (PI) and her collaborator Professor Ioannis Chasiotis at University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC) have received support through the Office of Naval Research (ONR) for their proposal titled: "Role of Microstructure in Local Mechanical Deformation and Failure of Highly Drawn UHMWPE Films". This grant will investigate the local mechanical deformation of Ultra-High Molecular Weight Polyethylene (UHMWPE) films in connection with their local microstructure and processing parameters.
October 2, 2017
The National Science Foundation has awarded a 3-year grant to a Rutgers Engineering Team composed of Professors Jingang Yi (co-PI), Javier Diez (co-PI), and Dario Pompili (PI). The title of the project is "Enabling Real-time Dynamic Control and Adaptation of Networked Robots in Resource-constrained and Uncertain Environments" from the Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) Program. We invite you to learn more about this project at the NSF page here.  
October 2, 2017
The National Science Foundation has awarded Kim Cook-Chennault (PI) and Evelyn S. Erenrich (co-PI) a grant for an REU Site: Green Energy Technology Undergraduate Program (GET-UP) at Rutgers University. This program was developed to address the national need for environmentally friendly power and enrich the population of STEM professionals that are prepared to tackle the technical challenges associated with this national need. This award starts in 2017 and ends 2020.  
October 2, 2017
Professor Doyle Knight presented a series of invited courses at the Northwestern Polytechnical University in Xi'an, Shaanxi, Peoples Republic of China, on May 22-26, 2017. The courses include compressible flow, turbulence, and design optimization. Northwestern Polytechnical University was founded in 1938 and has an enrollment of over 28,000 students.

September 2017

September 27, 2017
This award was established by the family, friends, and colleagues of Daniel Gorenstein to commemorate his outstanding mathematical research, his skillful and enthusiastic exposition of his field, and his wise and devoted service to Rutgers University. The Award is given for outstanding scholarly achievement to a Rutgers faculty member who has also performed exceptional service to the University.